There are Angels Among Us

f11cdd571de71f2ae186246b86c90321

Angels are everywhere. I am not talking about the ones with big feathery white wings and a glistening halo, although the angel I am thinking about probably has wings and a halo in her closet.

We have been very blessed to have some wonderful women help my parents. They were hired to help my mom over three years ago and as it turns out, they are now helping both of my parents. We are lucky and we know it.

The other day my mom called me with such excitement in her voice. To be honest, I was prepared for her to tell me that dad thought he was in another foreign country but instead she told me that dad was going to a baseball game! OK?

I was reminded that the SEC baseball tournament is in Hoover this week and Alabama was playing. Peaches, the night sitter, watched baseball with daddy the night before and heard  him say how much he wished he could go see Alabama play. The next morning Peaches asked if my father could go to the baseball game with her. You would have thought she had given my dad the greatest gift in the world! Of course my mom said yes!

It was a double gift because it meant that mom got a break too! Maybe that is the real reason mom was so excited.

Now keep in mind that Peaches is the night sitter and had been with my parents all night. Most nights are quiet and fortunately that night was quiet but she had still worked a twelve hour shift AND now she is returning in a few short hours to take my dad to a baseball game! Who does that?

I immediately felt guilty because he is my dad and the thought of taking him to a baseball game NEVER crossed my mind! As a matter of fact, my mind immediately thought of all the barriers that they would encounter at the Hoover Met. Where would they have to park? How far will he have to walk? She cannot drop him off and park the car because what if he wanders off? What about the steep stairs in the stadium? What about when he has to go to the bathroom? What would I do with him when I have to go to the bathroom? What is Peaches thinking???

Clearly she is an angel and angels don’t worry about these silly things. Peaches is a wonderful christian woman and you know this about her after spending a little time with her. She is calm and patient even when there is a storm brewing in my dad’s head. She has a way about her. She can calm him down when no one else can and obviously she can take him to a baseball game for almost EIGHT hours. If that is not an angel, I do not know who is.

I am so glad there are angels around us. I am so glad that all of our sitters offer their own gifts to my parents. Peaches is the calm. Janice is the laughter. Marcella is the protector and Roxanne is the energy. What more could we ask for?

I cannot think of a thing.

 

Leave a Reply

